Europakonzert 2004 - Athens

May 2, 2017


Tuesday, May 2 at 21:00 CEST | Europa Konzert 2004 – Athens

Europakonzert 2004 was held in Athens, Greece. This concert featured the Berliner Philharmoniker performing live at the ancient Herodes Atticus Theatre along with an interesting combination of conductor and soloist - Sir Simon Rattle wielding the baton as pianist Daniel Barenboim plays Johannes Brahms’ Piano Concerto No. 1 and Arnold Schoenberg's arrangement of Brahms' Piano Quartet No 1. The Athens concert marked a double première: it was the first Europakonzert under the direction of the new chief conductor, as well as the first time Rattle and Barenboim appeared together. The Odeon of Herodes Atticus, an amphitheatre built in 161 AD in memory of Herodes Atticus’ wife, is situated on the slope of the Acropolis. With a seating capacity of at least 5,000 spectators, it was reputed to be the finest theatre in all of Greece.    

Performers: Daniel Barenboim, Berliner Philharmoniker    
Conductor: Sir Simon Rattle    
Composers: Johannes Brahms and Arnold Schoenberg  
Producer: EuroArts    
Location: Herodes Atticus Theatre, Athens, Greece  
Year: 2004